Three Panola Ponies Baseball Players Selected to the NJCAA USA National Baseball Team

July 12, 2018 Colorado Springs, CO – The NJCAA National Baseball team has announced its 25-man roster for the 84th annual National Baseball Congress, NBC) World Series. Guided by Tyler, TX head coach Doug Wren, the team will make the trek to Wichita, KS August 1-11.

Michael Lawson of Panola, TX

A roster of 13 pitchers, two catchers, five infielders, four outfielders, and one utility player will take on top talent from around the world. 20 different NJCAA schools are represented from 10 different states and all three divisions.

Members of this year's roster include the 2018 ABCA/Rawlings NJCAA DII Baseball Player of the Year Brandon Parker of Mississippi Gulf Coast, 2018 Spalding® NJCAA DI Baseball Defensive Player of the Year Michael Lawson of Panola, TX, and 2017 ABCA/Rawlings NJCAA DIII Player of the Year Taylor Broadway of Tyler. 14 players on the roster have committed to four-year programs that inclue the likes of Florida, LSU, Ole Miss, and Tennessee. 11 players on this year's team recently concluded their freshman season at their NJCAA program.

Jarret Whorf of Panola, TX

Panola led the way with three selections: Lawson of Conroe, TX; Jarret Whorf of Winnsboro, TX; and Kade Clemens of Gilmer, TX; while Howard, TX; Santa Fe, FL; and Tyler will each send two representatives.

Wren takes over the program after serving as an assistant in 2016. The four-time NJCAA World Series champion will be assisted by Ryan Cougill of Yavapai, AZ and Sam Temple of Hinds, MS. Joe Bauth, the NJCAA Baseball Coaches Association president will serve as the general manager while Tyler Eddy McGuire has been tapped as the team's athletic trainer.

Kade Clemens of Panola, TX

The NBC World Series will be held at Lawrence-Dumont Stadium which has hosted the event since 1935. The NJCAA team finished fourth in 2016 with a 3-1 record and was named the Most Outstanding Offensive Team.


Pitchers - Taylor Broadway (Tyler, TX), Juan Cabrera (Cochise, AZ), Indigo Diaz (Iowa Western), Antonio Frias (Monroe, NY), Devin Hemenway (Santa Fe, FL), Irving Martin (Arizona Western), Giovanni Nieves (Wabash Valley, IL), Shemar Page (Pearl River, MS), Jared Shemper (Wallace Dothan, AL), Michael Spinozzi (Tyler, TX), Tyler Spring (Jones County, MS), Brooks Warren (East Central, MS), Jarret Whorff (Panola, TX)
Catchers - Michael Hoehner (Cisco, TX) and Colton Onstott (Dodge City, KS)
Infielders - Josh Bristyan (Paradise Valley, AZ), Saul Garza (Howard, TX), Michael Lawson (Panola, TX), Tommy Sacco (Yavapai, AZ), Bryan Sturges (Howard, TX)
Outfielders - Brant Blaylock (Northwest Mississippi), Brock Edge (Santa Fe, FL), Brandon Parker (Mississippi Gulf Coast), and Alex Whipple (Erie, NY)
Utility Player - Kade Clemens (Panola, TX)


Head Coach - Doug Wren (Tyler, TX)
Assistant Coaches - Ryan Cougill (Yavapai, AZ) and Sam Temple (Hinds, MS)
General Manager - Joe Bauth (Erie, NY)
Athletic Trainer - Eddy McGuire (Tyler, TX)

Submitted by Don Clinton