10-2A Division I All-District Football Team

January 2, 2015 - Senior quarterback ReShod Williams of West Sabine was named Most Valuable Player on the 10-2A Division I All-District Team, which was voted on by league coaches. Williams was one of six individuals in the district to earn a superlative.

Shelbyville headman Jason Ferguson won the district’s Coach of the Year honor with an 9-1 record, San Augustine quarterback Jamikel Roberts took home Offensive Most Valuable Player and Joaquin linebacker Adam Mason won top defensive player.

Two freshmen tied for Newcomer of the Year recognition. Athlete Ethan Harris of Beckville was awarded a share as was Joaquin running back and safety Kase Yates.

Shelbyville and San Augustine led the district with 14 players named to first and second team lists each. Joaquin and West Sabine players and tied with 11 players recognized, Beckville had eight players on the lists and the group was rounded out by five Cushing players.


MVP – ReShod Williams, Sr., QB, West Sabine
Offensive MVP – Jamikel Roberts, Sr., QB, San Augustine
Defensive MVP – Adam Mason, Sr., LB, Joaquin
Co-Newcomer of the Year – Ethan Harris, Fr., ATH, Beckville
Co-Newcomer of the Year – Kase Yates, RB/S, Fr., Joaquin
Coach of the Year – Jason Ferguson, Shelbyville

First-Team Offense

QB — Brandon Matlock, Jr., Cushing
RB — Octavian Burrell, Jr., Shelbyville
RB — Nate Belrose, Soph., Joaquin
RB — Jeremy Jenkins, Sr., San Augustine
TE — Jake Thondreau, Sr., Beckville
WR — Loguen Wesner, Sr., Beckville
WR — Tyrae Johnson, Sr., San Augustine
WR — DaeDae Edwards, Sr., San Augustine
WR — Joshua Duffey, Sr., West Sabine
C — E.J. Barnes, Jr., San Augustine
G — Adam Mason, Sr., Joaquin
G — Ashton Battles, Sr., Shelbyville
T — Kal Metcalf, Jr., Shelbyville
T — Tyler Rhodes, Jr., West Sabine
K — Garrett Hope, Jr., Beckville

First-Team Defense

DL — J.D. Land, Jr., Shelbyville
DL — Y’venske Rushing, Sr., San Augustine
DL — Tyler Rhodes, Jr., West Sabine
DE — Rahiem Jenkins, Jr., Shelbyville
DE — C.J. Berry, Jr., San Augustine
ILB — James Marshall, Sr., Carthage
ILB — Kal Metcalf, Jr., Shelbyville
ILB — Ty Fore, Sr., West Sabine
OLB — Tray Cartwright, Jr., Shelbyville
OLB — Kirkland Wilson, Sr., West Sabine
S — Octavian Burrell, Jr., Shelbyville
S — Joshua Duffey, Sr., West Sabine
CB — DaeDae Edwards, Sr., San Augustine
CB — Isaiah Stanberry, Jr., Shelbyville
P — Garrett Hope, Jr., Beckville

Second-Team Offense

QB — Braden Wise, Jr., Beckville
RB — Nathaniel Retamar, Jr., Joaquin
RB — Ty Fore, Sr., West Sabine
RB — Isaiah Stanberry, Jr., Shelbyville
TE — Tristan Hairgrove, Sr., Joaquin
WR — DeMarie Smith, Soph., West Sabine
WR — Keonte Watts, Soph., San Augustine
WR — Chris Rodgers, Soph., San Augustine
WR — Brayan Valencia, Sr., Cushing
C — Lucas Harbison, Sr., Shelbyville
G — Jacob Jackson, Jr., Shelbyville
T — Dalton Wheless, Sr., Joaquin
T — Aaron Fuller, Sr., West Sabine
K — Dee Osby, Sr., Shelbyville

Second-Team Defense

DL — Austin Cruz, Sr., Cushing
DL — Dalton Wheless, Sr., Joaquin
DL — E.J. Barnes, Jr., San Augustine
DL — Tyler Sepulvado, Jr., West Sabine
DE — Marquis Bradford, Sr., Beckville
DE — Nick Harper, Soph., West Sabine
ILB — Jacari Reed, Jr., Beckville
ILB — DaSavion Crane, Soph., San Augustine
OLB — Jeremy Jenkins, Sr., San Augustine
OLB — Nate Belrose, Soph., Joaquin
S — Kordell Parks, Jr., San Augustine
S — Tray Wilkerson, Fr., Joaquin
CB — Darius Buckley, Jr., Cushing
CB — Malyk Cartwright, Soph., Shelbyville
P — Tristan Wright, Jr., Cushing