2019 Tenaha ISD Teacher Awards & Appreciation Luncheon

June 3, 2019 - Each year teachers, community members, and staff gather to celebrate the achievements of those individuals that have had a positive impact on the lives of our students and inspire young individuals to achieve the impossible. Each award presented is named after an individual that has had a profound positive impact on others. This year’s Teacher Awards & Appreciation Luncheon was held on May 31st in the Tenaha High School Cafetorium.

The Floyd A. (Dock) Watson “Star Award” was awarded to employees that displayed an ongoing commitment and dedication to excellence. Pictured above (front row left to right) Brenda Lucas, Brian Sours, Christi Roye, (second row left to right) Brenda Giles (presenter), Robert Tamplin, Amanda Hall, Amy Collins, Shannon Landrum, (third row left to right) Fannie Watson (presenter) Stella Baker, Gary Davison, David Jeter, and Ray Jackson. Not pictured is Emily Lemoine.

The “Star Awards” were also given to the Tenaha Daycare Staff for their ongoing dedication and commitment to excellence (pictured left to right) Michelle Wagstaff, Christine Sims, and Catrice Roland.

The Paulyne Evans “Support Service Person of the Year” Award presented by school board president, Aaron Roland, was awarded to Delores Thompson.

The Lela Beth Harris “Para-Professional of the Year” Award presented by school board member, Mide Ogden, to Sherry Thompson.

The Cath Moore “Professionalism” Award presented by Cathy Moore was awarded to Luke Balkcom.

The Tom Jones “Loyalty” Award was presented by Tenaha ISD Superintendent, Scott Tyner, to Tammy Powers for her 33 years of dedication and commitment to Tenaha ISD.

The Ruth Templin “Care” Award was presented by Jimmy Bowlin to Stacie Barr.

Superintendent, Scott Tyner, presented the “Unsung Hero” Award to Terry Bowlin. The Unsung Hero award was named in memory of the late Martha Boren, Tenaha ISD’s long time employee.

The Gladys Horton “PK-5th Teacher of the Year” Award, presented by George Horton, was awarded to Janet Jennings.

The Billie Jean Kay “6th-12th Teacher of the Year” Award, presented by Billie Jean Kay, was awarded to David DePriest.

The Charles Williams “Tiger Way” Award, presented by school board member, Robert Barton, was presented to Josh Campbell.

They Waylon Moore “Most Valuable Employee” Award, presented by Waylon Moore, was awarded to Katha Wyatt.