Center ISD Board of Trustees Unofficial Regular Meeting Minutes

March 22, 2019 - A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Center Independent School District (CISD) was held on Thursday, March 21, 2019, beginning at 12pm at Center Intermediate School District located at 624 Malone Drive in Center, Texas 75935.

1. Call Meeting to Order and Establish a Quorum
Allison Johnson called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. and declared a quorum.
Present: John Henry Holloway; Allison Johnson; Daphne LaRock; Casey Lout; Traci Willoughby; Deuce Wulf; Betty McDaniel, Director of Finance and James Hockenberry, Superintendent
Absent: Matthew Mettauer
Visitors: Carey Agnew, Special Education Director; Mike Brister; Tina Byrnes, SFE; CHS Students; Cindy Clegg, TASB Consultant; Paul Cocklin, CISD Digital Learning Coordinator; Mike Elswick, Light and Champion; Matt Gregory, CHS Principal; Heath Hagler, CIS Principal; Jake Henson, CMS Principal; Maria Hernandez; Inez Hughes, FLM Principal; Jimmie Johnston, SFE; Pete Low, CISD Police; Chris Magard, SFE; Holly Mikesh, Human Resources Director; Teresa Richard, RTI Director; Chris Smith, CHS Band Director; Christina Smith, CMS Band Director; Linda Snell, Special Programs Director and Mickey Wulf, Special Education

2. Invocation and Pledges of Allegiance
Mike Brister led the invocation, and John Henry Holloway led the Pledges.

3. Public Comments/Audience Participation

4. Recognition of CHS Student All-State Band Qualifier
Christina Smith introduced the CHS All-State Band Qualifier, Rachel Guidry to the Board and visitors. Rachel Guidry was one of the top 14 flute players in the State of Texas.

5. Presentation by Linebarger Googan Blair & Sampson
This agenda item was tabled.

6. Discussion and Review of the 2018-2019 TASB Pay Systems Review
Cindy Clegg presented the biannual pay systems review. The review compares salary structures in compariation to the market area. Further discussion of the findings will take place at a later meeting.

7. Consent Agenda
John Henry Holloway made a motion, seconded by Traci Willoughby, to approve the consent agenda consisting of the minutes from the regular meeting on February 14, 2019; Tax Office Report (February 2019); Financial Reports (February 2019); Payment Approval over $50,000; Investment Report (February 2019), Overnight Student Trips; Amendments to the Budget; Staff Development Minutes Waiver for 2019-2020; 2019-2020 Student Transfer Agreement; Certify the Superintendent, James Hockenberry, to the Region 7 Regional Advisory Committee 2019-2020; ELAR Adoption and 2019-2020 Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS Certification.
The motion carried 6-0.

8. Review Bond Project and Budget
Dr. Hockenberry provided the Board with the monthly update on the bond project.

9. Consideration to Approve Annual Contract with Southwest Foodservice Excellence
Traci Willoughby made a motion, seconded by Daphne LaRock to approve the annual contract with Southwest Foodservice Excellence.
The motion carried 6-0.

10. Consideration to Approve the 2019-2020 Master Calendar
Casey Lout made a motion, seconded by Traci Willoughby to approve the 2019-2020 master calendar.
The motion carried 6-0.

11. Consideration to Approve Job Description(s)
John Henry Holloway made a motion, seconded by Deuce Wulf to approve the Director of Elementary Instruction and RTI job description as presented.
The motion carried 6-0.

12. Closed Session
Allison Johnson called for a closed session at 12:08 p.m. under Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.072, §551.074 and §551.129 for consideration of resignation/retirement of personnel, employment of contracted personnel, extended emergency sick leave and real property.

13. Open Session
The Board returned into open session at 12:40 p.m. No action was taken in closed session.

13.1 District Employees and Officers: Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.074 and §551.129 for consideration of employment of contracted personnel, resignation/retirement, and extended emergency sick leave.

13.1.1 Resignation/Retirement of Personnel
Traci Willoughby made a motion, seconded by Daphne LaRock to accept the resignation/retirements of contracted personnel as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry.
Lori Brister, CES Instructional Coach – retirement
Mitzi Lengl, CES Teacher – retirement
Linda Snell, Director of Special Programs – retirement
Karan Stewart, CES Teacher – retirement
Andrea Clary, CES Teacher – resignation
William (Cody) Ross, CHS Teacher/Coach - resignation

13.1.2 Employment of Personnel
Traci Willoughby made a motion, seconded by Daphne LaRock to approve the employment of the contracted personnel as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry.
Penny Holloway, Teacher - Center High School
The motion carried 6-0.

13.1.3 Extended Emergency Sick Leave
There were no extended emergency sick leaves to be considered by the Board.

13.2 Real Property: Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.072 and §551.129
There was no action taken regarding the real property.

14. Adjournment
Traci Willoughby made a motion, seconded by Daphne LaRock, to adjourn the meeting at 1:25 p.m.
The motion carried 6-0.