Center ISD School Board Regular Meeting Unofficial March 19th Minutes

March 23, 2015 - A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Center Independent School District (CISD) was held on Thursday, March 19, 2015 beginning at 6:00 p.m. at CISD Administration Board Room located at 107 Private Road 605 Center, Texas 75935.

1.Call Meeting to Order and Establish a Quorum
James Greer called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and declared a quorum.

Present:    James Greer; John Henry Holloway; Daphne LaRock; Sharon Nelson; Stephen Shires; Traci Willoughby; Dan Wilkins; Rayford Copelin, Deputy Superintendent; Betty McDaniel, Director of Finance and James Hockenberry, Superintendent

Absent:    None

Visitors:    Jill Albert, Light and Champion; Heather Brink, Southwest Foodservice Excellence; Mike Brister; Barry Bowman, CISD Athletic Director; Chris Maggard, Southwest Foodservice Excellence; Elliott Minshew, Southwest Foodservice Excellence and Mickey Wulf, CISD Special Services Director

2.Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance
James Greer gave the invocation and Mickey Wulf led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3.Public Comment/Audience Participation

4.Consent Agenda
A motion was made by Stephen Shires, seconded by Sharon Nelson to approve the consent agenda consisting of the minutes from the regular meeting – February 12, 2015, February Investment Report (2014-2015), Tax Collection Report (February 2015) and Financial Reports (February 2015), Amendments to the Budget and Overnight Student Activity Trips (as approved by Campus Administrators).

The motion carried 7-0.

5.Presentation TASB Climate Survey Administration
The Board received a sample of an employee engagement and opinion survey which is conducted by TASB. Dr. Hockenberry indicated that the information would be very beneficial to the District and could be returned in early June 2015.

Sharon Nelson made the motion, seconded by Traci Willoughby for Superintendent Hockenberry to contact TASB to conduct an employee engagement and opinion survey and obtain additional examples of survey questions.

The motion carried 7-0.

6.Review of 2013 CISD Future Facility Report
The 2013 CISD Future Facility report was presented. Dr. Hockenberry pointed out that the HVAC at FLM was upgraded during the summer of 2014. The Board discussed various ideas regarding the different campuses. Dr. Hockenberry suggested that the District’s financial advisor make a presentation to the Board in order to better inform Trustees on the financial condition and outlook of the District.

7.Update on Progress of Athletic Facility Committee
The Board received an update on the progress of the Athletic Facility Committee and some of the findings. The Athletic Facility Committee will be putting the final touches on their report to be presented at the April Board meeting.

As part of the discussion, the current condition and abuse of the Roughrider Stadium track and field and District tennis courts were discussed.

A motion was made by Daphne LaRock and seconded by Sharon Nelson for correspondence be sent to the community asking for their help to protect the communities’ investment in the District’s athletic facilities.

The motion carried 7-0.

8.Presentation and Discussion of Grade Level Alignments
The Board discussed information regarding grade level alignments.

9.Consideration and Approval of PreK Resolution
A motion was made by Dan Wilkins, seconded by Daphne LaRock to approve the PreK resolution.

The motion carried 7-0.

10.Consideration and Approval to Certify the Superintendent, James Hockenberry, to the Region 7 Regional Advisory Committee 2015-2016

A motion was made by John Henry Holloway, seconded by Sharon Nelson to approve to certify James Hockenberry to the Region 7 Regional Advisory Committee for 2015-2016.

The motion carried 7-0.

The Board adjourned at 7:13 p.m. and reconvened at 7:25 p.m.

11.Closed Session
Mr. Greer called for a closed session at 7:25 p.m. under Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.074 and §551.129 for employment of contracted personnel and extended emergency sick leave.

12. Open Session
The Board returned into open session at 8:40 p.m. No action was taken in closed session.

A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by Daphne LaRock to approve the employment of contracted personnel (Dana Irvin, CHS teacher/coach, Jimmy Irvin, CHS teacher/coach, Richard Mitchell, CHS teacher/coach, Kim Umbrell, CMS teacher, Royce Ann Wiggins, CIS teacher and Sarah Yarbrough, CIS teacher) and the extended emergency leave (Gabriela Flores, CMS Special Education Life Skills Aide) as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry.

The motion carried 7-0

A motion was made by Dan Wilkins, seconded by Stephen Shires to adjourn the meeting at 8:41 p.m.

The motion carried 7-0.