FSA County Committee Nomination Deadline

July 23, 2021 – `Nacogdoches-Angelina-Trinity-San Augustine-Shelby County USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director Lance Jacobs, announced that the nomination period for local FSA county committee began on Tuesday, June 15, 2021.

"County Committees are unique to FSA and allow producers to have a voice on federal farm program implementation at the local level," said Jacobs.

To be eligible to serve on a FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in an FSA administered program, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the local administrative area (LAA) where they are nominated.

Farmers and livestock producers may nominate themselves or others. Organizations representing minorities and women also may nominate candidates.

To become a candidate, an eligible individual must sign an FSA-669A nomination form. The form and other information about FSA county committee elections are available at www.fsa.usda.gov/elections.

2021 nomination forms must be postmarked or received in the Nacogdoches-Angelina-Trinity-San Augustine-Shelby County FSA Office by close of business on August 2, 2021.

Elected county committee members serve a three-year term and apply their knowledge and judgement to help FSA make important decisions on its commodity support programs; conservation programs; indemnity and disaster programs; emergency programs and eligibility. 

County committees consist of three to 11 members. "It is important that county committees are comprised of members who fairly represent the diverse demographics of production agriculture for their community," said Jacobs. 

"All producers, including women, minority and beginning farmers and ranchers are encouraged to participate in the nomination and election process."

FSA will mail election ballots to eligible voters beginning Nov. 1, 2021. Ballots must be returned to the NacogdochesAngelina-Trinity-San Augustine-Shelby county FSA office via mail or in person by Dec. 6, 2021.

Newly-elected committee members and alternates will take office on Jan. 1, 2022.

For more information about county committees, please contact the Nacogdoches-Angelina-Trinity-San Augustine-Shelby County FSA office at 936-564-5891 extension 2 or visit www.fsa.usda.gov/elections.