Shelbyville HS Introduces Graduating Class of 2022

May 19, 2022 - Shelbyville High School introduces the graduating class of 2022.

Naomi CaporaliNaomi Caporali is the 2022 Shelbyville High School Valedictorian. Ms. Caporali has demonstrated excellence, intellect, and service throughout the years with many accomplishments. 

During freshman year, she participated in CX Debate at State Level, Number Sense, Extemporaneous Speaking where she was runner up, All-Region Band, 8th chair in Area Auditions, State Solo and Ensemble, Regional Marching Band, 1st chair in Concert Band, and received the Outstanding Musician award. During her freshman year she was also a volleyball manager and part of the softball team. Throughout her four years of high school she completed 28 volunteering hours with activities such as food drives, toy donations, concession stand work, car washes, and poultry festival attendant.

Ms. Caporali continued her academic achievements during her sophomore years by participating in the Lincoln-Douglas Debate, and once again Extemporaneous Speaking and Number Sense. She also participated in All-Region Band, Area Auditions, State Solo and Ensemble, Marching Band, Concert Band where she was once again, 1st chair and Outstanding Musician Award receiver. Her next 3 years she was a part of the Yearbook staff. Her junior year, she participated once again in the Lincoln-Douglas Debate where she was Runner-Up, and Extemporaneous Speaking where she was State Semi-finalist.

This year she was also part of the All-Region Band, Area Auditions, State Solo and Ensemble, Marching Band, and for the third time, 1st chair in Concert Band and receiver of the Outstanding Musician Award. Ms. Caporali began taking college classes with an A average in each one. During her senior year she was Runner-Up for the Lincoln-Douglas Debate and State Semi-finalist for the Extemporaneous Speaking competition. She also gained 6 college credits through the year. 

Eli TaylorEli Taylor is the 2022 Salutatorian. Throughout his four years of high school Eli Taylor was elected and served rigorously as class president.

His freshman year he was awarded All-District Lineman for football, and played a variety of sports including baseball, shotput, discus and powerlifting. Academically, he participated in State CX Debate, the Military Marching Band, One Act Play for theatre and UIL Biology, where he made it to regionals. He went from being in All-District to All-State Football his sophomore year, became a One Act Bi-District qualifier for theatre, continued being a member of the Military Marching Band, and was again, a state qualifier in CX Debate.

His junior year was a success as Eli continued to be in All-State Football, and became the team captain. He made it to Shot-Putt Regionals and State Powerlifting. Academically, he received 2nd place in District CX, made it to Regionals in Science UIL, became an FFA member, and continued to be a One Act Play member.

His senior year Mr. Taylor, continued being the captain of the Football team. He was an All-State Academic, a CX Debate Qualifier, and received an Honorable Mention as part of the All-Star Cast for theatre. He also participated as Poultry Festival escort, and FFA member. 

Congratulations graduates!

Shiloh Amburn Hunter Bartee Brenda Bautista Kiana Bennett Cooper Bice Alicia Campbell Naomi Caporali Michael Carrillo Trey Cartwright Jaelyn Crawford Jeremiah Davis Alexis Fleming Seth Freeman Kelley Garcia Brayden Hand Haven Heiman Giselle Hernandez Clayton Hinton Ma'Kayja Horton Dawson Jackson Brianna Jones Dylan Jones Gerald Jones Kevin Jones Lieza Klein Kate Lawson Ta'Larrian Lister Malachi McArthur Cole McDaniel Tyler Merriman Tucker Meyer Lawna Pounders Ramiro Reyez Dylan Robbins Riley Ross Laka Sanders Shane Schilder Neena Smith Neera Smith Alyssa Solis Ja'Kory Standley Eli Taylor Toby Taylor Cadience Thompson Myla Wagstaff Kayla White Ethan Wood