Shelbyville ISD Board Appreciation

January 13, 2015 - The month of January has been proclaimed School Board Recognition Month to emphasize the importance of the men and women across the state of Texas who serve on school boards. Shelbyville I.S.D. students benefit every day from the dedication and commitment to public education of our local trustees. These men and women serve without pay, giving of their time and expertise to ensure that young Texans have the skills needed for lifelong success.

Shelbyville ISD School Board Members pictured are: (front row, L to R) Tim Bradshaw, 1 year; Dr. Ray West, Superintendent, 18 years; Kelly Parker, President, 8 years; Etola Jones, Vice-President, 6 years; (back row, L to R); Duane Lout, 3 years; Joe Tom Schillings, 6 years; Mark Bohannon, 1 year; and Joey Lawson, Secretary, 2 years. 

As advocates for our children, school board members face difficult challenges. These local citizens are elected by the community to make critical decisions that directly affect the future of our youth. These people volunteer their time because they care; they care about their communities, they care about their schools and, most importantly, they care about the children.

With this in mind, “Thank You” to the Shelbyville I.S.D. School Board.