Tenaha High School 2019 Awards Banquet

June 2, 2019 - The 2018-2019 school year has quickly come to an end. Each year the Tenaha Independent School District celebrates the accomplishments of their students. This year a number of friends and family were on hand to celebrate the academic and athletic accomplishments of the students of Tenaha High School.

Tenaha Independent School District’s Superintendent, Scott Tyner, recognized this year’s Valedictorian, Giselle Rico (pictured above left), and Salutatorian, Anayeli Aguilar (pictured above right).

Mrs. Linda Jacobs Worrell, High School Principal, recognized students earning the All A Honor Roll award. Pictured left to right is Jarrod Tovar, Guadelupe Sandoval, Sariah Flores, and Lisseth Amaya Benitez.

Tenaha ISD Police Chief, David Jeter, awarded the Good Citizenship Award to Jairo Cuba.

Recognized for their 3rd place finish at the High School State BBQ Championship, FFA BBQ team (left to right) Guadelupe Sandoval, Jeremy Patton, Trevor Lampley, Hunter Collins, and Jonisha Thompson.

FFA students were recognized for their dedication and hard work in raising poultry. Pictured above left to right is Guadelupe Sandoval, Rebekah Potter, Anna Holland, Hannah Hicks and Madison Hicks.

FFA Member of the Year was awarded to Guadelupe Sandoval.

The High School Robotics Team placed 3rd at Region VII. Awarded plaques were team members Irvin Barona, pictured above, Addy Duncan (not pictured), and Conner Barber (not pictured).

Athletes recognized for football accomplishments were front row (left to right) Kale Page, Jeremy Patton, Jordan Marshall, Christian Castillo, Tra Tutt, and Javon Tamplin. Second row (left to right) Brandon Soto, Devon Wiley, Kesiah Giles, Jay Lloyd, and Jarrod Tovar,(back row left to right) Dyllan Calloway, Jeremy Patton, Jaurmez Brock, Hayden Jenkins, Erik Smith, Tycorreus Villegas, Ja’Qualin Franks, and Orlando Perales.

Basketball honors awarded to (front row, left to right) TraTutt and Jay Lloyd, (back row, left to right) Erik Smith, Jeremy Patton, Hayden Jenkins, and Ja’Qualin Franks.

Lady Tiger basketball awards went to (left to right) Jonisha Thompson, Jasmine Dodd, Jonica Glaze, Kamarie Gray, Christasha Suell, and Amya Giles.

Girls’ Soccer Leadership Awards went to (left to right) Sarai Valencia, Anayeli Aquilar, Macy Fitzgerald, Giesel Rico, and MVP was awarded to Leslie Flores.

Gustavo Tovar (left) and Christian Castillo (right) were awarded the Senior Soccer Awards.

Boys’ Soccer Newcomer of the Year was awarded to Nicholas Watson.

Cheerleading awards presented to Gracie Martinson (left) and Jykeeria Patton (right).

Cross Country Area Qualifiers (left to right) Irvin Barona, Jose Corpus, Manuel Loredo, Eduardo Flores, Oscar Flores, and Devon Lampley.

Area Qualifiers in girls’ track (left to right) Jonisha Thompson, Kamari Gray, and Kristen Rasberry.

Earning track awards were (left to right) Manuel Loredo, Erik Smith, Irvin Barona, Jeremy Patton, Markevion Rasberry, Eduardo Flores, Markee Rasberry, and Oscar Flores.

Baseball honors were awarded to Honorable Mention All District 1st Base-Jaurmez Brock, Honorable Mention All District Utility Player-Keymyson Gray (Kamari Gray accepting the plaque on his behalf.), 1st Team All District Pitcher-Hayden Jenkins, Honorable Mention Utility Player-Trenton Hass, and 2nd Team All District- Brandon Soto.

Medalists in the Special Olympics were Jaron Bryant and Harley Eubank.

Numerous students earned letter jackets in academics, band, and athletics.