Timpson FFA Students Receive State Honors

April 29, 2015Texas FFA Star In Production
Timpson High School senior Keaton Bush will be awarded the Star Lonestar Award for outstanding achievement in an entrepreneurial Beef Production agriculture SAE and active participation in the FFA. Star awards are given at the district, area and state levels. Applicants must have been selected as a star winner from the previous level in order to advance to the next level. All Texas FFA Star award finalists are recognized during convention on stage and presented with a state finalist plaque. The winner is announced at that time and is presented with a $1,000 Dina Wallrath Robertson Memorial Star Award and an additional plaque.

Beef Proficiency
Keaton was also awarded as the winner of the Area IX Beef Proficiency Award. The Agricultural Proficiency Awards program encourages members to set personal goals and learn practical skills. The program provides recognition to FFA members at the local, state and national levels for exceptional accomplishments and excellence in their Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) program.

Lonestar/State FFA Degree
This is the highest degree of membership the State FFA Association can award. FFA members may apply to receive the Lone Star Degree only after they have received the Chapter degree. Those wishing to receive their Lone Star Degree must have been an active FFA member for at least two years, complete at least four semesters of agricultural science at or above the ninth grade level, maintain a supervised agricultural experience (SAE) program, invest significant time and money in their SAE, demonstrate their leadership skills and show a commitment to the FFA through involvement at the chapter level and above. This degree of active membership is awarded at the state level during the Texas FFA convention.

Timpson FFA Chapter will have six students that will be awarded the State FFA Degree in July at the Texas FFA Convention this summer in Corpus Christi, TX. The FFA member are Keaton Bush, Chandler Burgay, Sheldon Scroggins, Whitley Cantrell, Bethany Lindgren, Isaiah Molloy