Timpson ISD New Athletic Director and Honor Roll

January 27, 2016 - Timpson ISD Bear Update

New Athletic Director/Head Football Coach at Timpson ISD - Timpson ISD Board of Trustees hired Kerry Therwhanger as the district’s athletic director and head football coach at a special called board meeting Thursday January 21, 2016.

Coach Therwhanger comes from Lovelady ISD where he has coached for the past 15 years and served as athletic director/head football and track coach since 2003. After becoming the AD, Lovelady has gone to the playoffs in football 10 out of the past 11 years. In 2005, Lovelady won the district championship to earn a place in the play-offs for only the second time in school history. Under Therwhanger’s leadership Lovelady football teams achieved:

• 2015 – Football District Champions, State Semi-Finalist 14-1
• 2014 – Football Area Finalist 9-3
• 2013 – Football Regional Finalist
• 2012 – Football Bi-District Finalist
• 2011 – Football District Champions, State Quarterfinalist 11-2
• 2010 – Football District Champions, Area Finalist
• 2009 – Football District Champions, Regional Finalist 12-1
• 2007 – Football Area Finalist
• 2006 – Football State Semi Finalist 12-3

Coach Therwhanger’s head coaching record is 102 wins – 51 losses.

Also as athletic director at Lovelady, Coach Therwhanger’s athletic program achieved:

• 22 District Champions
• 21 other play off teams
• Among the 40+ play off appearances the Lovelady teams had multiple bi-district and area champions
• 5 regional finalists, 2 state semi-finalists
• 2 regional championships in track and field and numerous regional and state qualifiers and state champions

Before going to Lovelady, Coach Therwhanger coached and taught in 2A Haskell CISD, 1A Perrin-Whitt CISD, 4-A Mineral Wells ISD and 1A Megargel ISD. Coach Therwhanger was chosen through the Old Coach network as the High School 2A Division 1 Coach of the Year.

Coach Therwhanger has 30 years of experience in education as a coach, athletic director and teacher. He has experience in many different sports at all levels from 1st to 12th grade and has coached with both male and female athletes.

Athletic Director Therwhanger has the ability to work well with others and a strong desire to make a difference in the lives of our young people and create success in every program.

Coach Therwhanger graduated from Angelo State University with a Bachelor of Science degree. He is certified to teach physical education and history. While attending Angelo State he was named NCAA Division II Track & Field All American 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986. He was also NCAA Division II National Champion in 1985 and 1986.

Timpson ISD Superintendent Dr. Mid Johnson said “Coach Therwhanger is a great fit for Timpson ISD because he has experience and the ability to motivate athletes, experience leading all athletic teams and a strong desire to build a winning program”. Athletic Director Therwhanger will start work in Timpson February 8. He and his wife Darlene have two children: a son Taylor, who plays football for East Texas Baptist University and a daughter, Kiera, who is a senior in high school. On behalf of the Timpson ISD staff and the community, welcome to Timpson Coach Therwhanger.

Elementary Honor Roll for Cycle 3

A Honor Roll -
1st Grade: Jerrin Bass, Trinity Boyd, Luis Castillo, Josias De La Cruz, Christian Diaz, Madison Harber, Jaela Jourden, Branden Massey, Jesus Mejia-Ayala, Klaeten Miller, Jorja Miller, Kayson Pledger, Tristan Ramsey, Larry Rios, Nathan Searcy, Bailey Shadix, Taylor Stewart, Caroline Timmons and Braxton Young

2nd Grade: Joshua Bockwich, Ay’nivea Christopher, Raul DeLeon, Colbi Ford, Aliyah Glazier, Avery Hammers, Kelsee Holloway, Cameron Lavoie, Romy Madrid, Addison Molloy and Brittain Sanders

3rd Grade: Seth Duke, Natalie Johnson, Gretta Oliver, Madison Parry and Kadynce Reeves

4th Grade: Bella Alford, Kallie Solomon and Quinn Timmons

5th Grade: Christopher Crockett, Alleigh Campbell, Kaitlyn Crockett, Jennifer Diaz Pacheco, Pedro Garcia and Darin Livingston

AB Honor Roll -
1st Grade:Roxy Bryant, John Castleberry, Mariyah Dodd, Abigail Dunlap, Jasmine Durham, Daniel Galaviz, Elijah Garner, Paxton Gillespie, Svetlana Gorsuch, Keari Grace, Caitlyn Hamilton-Pecot, Anaya Johnson, NicKolas Lack, Victoria Lawhorn, Rorrie Lusk, Kayne Martin, Kylie Smith, Cash Tomlinson, Dylan Tutt, Brianna Vargas and Mckennadie Wynn

2nd Grade: Cody Booker, Phonte Collins, Alexis Diaz, Megan Gutermuth, Ashton Hale, Mayson Harbison, Juan Ocon, Callie Ragsdale,Jataia Roberts and Devin Whitton

3rd Grade: Dylan Branton, Jackson Campbell, Christopher Crockett, Brayden Lagrone, Kenley Moore, Eric Moreland, Chloe Nix, Gracie Pledger, Lauren Reid, Claycee Renick, Nakia Roland, Serenity Rosebrock, Katie Sepulvado and Jaterris Taylor

4th Grade: Cody Crawford, Dylan Crawford, Isabella Galaviz, Shelby Holloway, Yamilet Navarro, Mackenzie Smith and Landon Williams

5th Grade: Joseph Bowley, Halle Burns, Milca De La Cruz, Nayelli DeLeon, Haylee Eaves, James Fabian, Ally Kimbro, Tony Meza, Logan Nix, Catherine Searcy, Madison Smith and Jayden Windham

Middle School Honor Roll for Semester 1/Cycle 3

All A Honor Roll -
6th Grade - Jake Hanson, Kealey Horner, Asher Molloy, Carter Ramsey, Emma Ramsey, Briar Sample, Layci Jo Sample and Caden Solomon

7th Grade - Jaycee Campbell, Clair Johnson, Connor Lavoie and Erica Renick

8th Grade - Brittany Hutto, Sadie Ramsey, Ryan Stamps and Kaleigh Timmons

A/B Honor Roll -
6th Grade - Leonardo Ayala, Christopher Booker, Bethany Bridges, Celeste Bush, Shy'Kuirra Bussey, Chelsey Franks, Kay'la Gaddis, Yanelit Garcia, Trinity Hattaway, Isaac Mathis, Ashanti Page, Lana Parks, Ke'ambrea Robers, Amiyah Soto, Samuel Todd, Denia Venegas, Joshua Wagstaff, Katerious Washington and Brayden Watson

7th Grade - Christian Berry, Ferron Crockett, Alyssa Parks, Kade Reneau, Cara Searcy, Jamie Stephens and Harlie Ware

8th Grade - Trey Box, Corey Branton, Sandra Cuevas, Julieta DeLeon, Colton Gutermuth, Ashton Harris, Ashlynn Lindgren, Fabian Martinez, Zach Molloy, Jarrett Page, Reid Peace, Ke'unnia Perkins, April Ramsey, Brianna Reid, Mandell Roberts, Kevin Venegas, Tahlia Wallace and Kayleigh Wolf