Unofficial Minutes of The Board of Trustees Center ISD Special Meeting

January 12, 2015 - A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Center Independent School District (CISD) was held on Monday, January 11, 2016 beginning at 5:30 p.m. at Center Independent School District Administration located at 107 Private Road 605 Center, Texas 75935.

1. Call Meeting to Order and Establish a Quorum

James Greer called the meeting to order at 5:38 p.m. and declared a quorum.

Present: James Greer; Daphne LaRock; John Henry Holloway; Sharon Nelson; Traci Willoughby; Dan Wilkins and James Hockenberry, Superintendent

Absent: None

Visitors: Tina Byrnes, Southwest Foodservice Excellence; Jimmy Johnston, Southwest Foodservice Excellence; Steve Snyder, Light and Champion and Mickey Wulf, CISD Special Services Director

2. Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance

Dan Wilkins gave the invocation and James Greer led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Consider and Take Action on Resignation of Trustee

A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by Daphne LaRock to approve the resignation of Stephen Shires. The motion carried 6-0.

4. Discussion of Procedures for Vacated Trustee Seat

The Board discussed the different options to fill the vacated Trustee seat. The options are: have a called special election, appoint someone or leave the seat vacant until the November election.

5. Discussion and Approval to Revise 2015-2016 Master Calendar

HB 2610 has changed the requirements for students to attend school from “number of days (180)” to “minutes per year (75,600)”. Dr. Hockenberry indicated this change will provide us with some much needed flexibility and opportunity. A motion was made by Traci Willoughby, seconded by Sharon Nelson to approve the revised 2015-2016 CISD Master Calendar. The motion carried 6-0.

6. Closed Session

James Greer called for a closed session at 5:57 p.m. under Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.074 and §551.129 for consideration of employment of contracted personnel, resignation/retirement and extended emergency sick leave.

7. Open Session

The Board returned into open session at 6:45 p.m. No action was taken in closed session.

7.1 District Employees and Officers: Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.074 and §551.129

7.1.1 A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by John Henry Holloway to approve the employment of contracted personnel as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry. Mendi Cooper, Special Education Resource Teacher - CES Steven Hennigan, World Geography/World History Teacher/Coach - CHS The motion carried 6-0.
7.1.2 A motion was made by John Henry Holloway, seconded by Traci Willoughby to accept the resignation of Vernell Hicks and Misty Ray as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry. The motion carried 6-0.
7.1.3 There were no extended emergency leaves to be presented.
7.1.4 There was no action taken on the Superintendent’s evaluation.

8. Adjournment

A motion was made by Dan Wilkins, seconded by Daphne LaRock to adjourn the meeting at 6:46 p.m.

The motion carried 6-0.