Unofficial Minutes of Center ISD Board of Trustees Regular Meeting

April 19, 2016 - A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Center Independent School District (CISD) was held on Thursday, April 14, 2016 beginning at 6:00 p.m. at Center Independent School District Administration Board Room located at 107 Private Road 605 Center, Texas 75935.

1. Call Meeting to Order and Establish a Quorum

James Greer called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m. and declared a quorum.

Present: James Greer; John Henry Holloway; Daphne LaRock; Sharon Nelson; Traci Willoughby (arrived at 7:25 p.m.); Dan Wilkins; Rayford Copelin, Deputy Superintendent; Tammy Lemoine, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction; Betty McDaniel, Director of Finance and James Hockenberry, Superintendent

Absent: None

Visitors: Jimmie Johnston, Southwest Foodservice Excellence; Lindsey Tipton, Southwest Foodservice Excellence; Steve Synder, Light and Champion and  numerous Center ISD students, staff and parents

2. Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance

Tammy Lemoine gave the invocation and Tyler Herndon led the Pledge of Allegiance

3. Public Comments/Audience Participation


4. Recognition of CMS Beta Club National Qualifiers

The Center Middle School Beta Club State competition winners were recognized by their sponsors. 

5. Recognition of the Center High School Extra-Curricular Accomplishment

Matt Gregory, CHS Administrator and Adam Ramirez, CHS teacher, introduced CHS student Morgan Ray.  Morgan created a short film “Color Creation”.  Adam Ramirez noted that Morgan placed 2nd at the UIL State competition.  The film was created with over 900 drawings over a span of a year and half.  It was shown at SFA in February 2016 and won a People’s Choice Award.  The Board was treated to the short film.
6. Consent Agenda

A motion was made by Dan Wilkins, seconded by Daphne LaRock to approve the consent agenda consisting of the minutes from the regular meeting on March 10, 2016, the Investment Report (2015-2016), Quarterly Investment Report (ending February 2016) the Tax Collection Report (March 2016), the Financial Reports (March 2016) and the student overnight activity trips.

The motion carried 5-0.

7. Update on Bond Refunding Sale

Our bonds were refinanced on March 22, 2016 saving the District approximately $335,000 over the remaining life of the bonds. The original bonds were financed at an interest rate of 4.25%. The refinanced rate is now 1.21%. 

8. Consideration and Approval for Construction and Guaranteed Maximum Price of the CHS Tennis Complex Expansion and Agriculture Science Building

Danny Barry provided an overview of the construction costs associated with the tennis complex and the agriculture science building. 

A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by Dan Wilkins to approve construction and guarantee maximum price of the CHS tennis complex expansion and agriculture science building.

The motion carried 5-0.

9. Consideration and Approval of Resolution to Supplement and Amend the Inter-Local Agreement Between Center ISD and the City of Center

A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by Dan Wilkins to approve the resolution to supplement and amend the Inter-Local Agreement Between Center ISD and the City of Center as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry.

The motion carried 5-0.

10. Review and Discussion of Testing and Accountability System

The Board received information on the State’s current testing and accountability system and well as what actions the District is taking to address our at-risk areas.

11. Overview of Texas Principal Evaluation and Support System (TPESS) and Texas Teacher Evaluation and Support System (TTESS)

An overview of the new evaluation system for the principals and teachers was provided. The new system will be in effect during the 2016-2017 school year.

12. Discussion of 2016-2017 Compensation and Benefits

The Board was provided information regarding compensation and benefits for 2016-2017. During the course of discussion, it was agreed that a current market study of all position is necessary.

13. Discussion of Grade Level Alignment and Campus Configurations

Dr. Hockenberry provided the Board with a grade level alignment and campus configuration options noting that it is vital that we consider such a change. In doing so, we could focus our limited resources in a more purposeful and individualized way. The Board suggested Dr. Hockenberry meet with them in June or July and discuss the alignment further and in more depth.

14. Closed Session

James Greer called for a closed session at 8:02 p.m. under Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.074 and §551.129 for consideration of employment of contracted personnel, terminate probationary contracts, contract renewals for Administrators, teachers and certified support staff, resignation/retirement and extended emergency sick leave.

Dan Wilkins left the meeting at 8:02 p.m.

15. Open Session

The Board returned into open session at 9:05 p.m.  No action was taken in closed session.

15.1 District Employees and Officers:  Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.074 and  §551.129

15.1.1 There were no employment of contracted personnel to be considered.
15.1.2 A motion was made by Sharon Nelson, seconded by Traci Willoughby to  approve the contract renewals for Administrators, Teachers and Certified  Support Staff as submitted by Superintendent Hockenberry.

The motion carried 5-0.

15.1.3 A motion was made by Traci Willoughby, seconded by Sharon Nelson that the probationary employment contract of Kaci Lankford be terminated at the end of the current contract period is in the best interest of the District and that Kaci Lankford be given formal written notice of this decision of the Board of Trustees. 

The motion carried 5-0.

15.1.4 A motion was made by John Henry Holloway, seconded by Traci Willoughby to accept the resignations/retirements as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry.

Christy Byndon, CES Teacher – retirement
Juanita Campbell, AEP Teacher – retirement
Larry Cooper, Bus Driver – retirement
Patty Davis, CIS Teacher – retirement
Jackie Kirkwood, AEP Director – retirement
Angela Lawson, Director of Special Program – retirement
Nancy Perry, CES Instructional Aide – retirement
Frances Penick, CES Instructional Aide – retirement
Joann Shillings, FLM Teacher – retirement
Judy Wright, CES Instructional Aide – retirement
Stacie Michelle Clark, CMS Teacher - resignation
Michael Garcia, CHS Teacher – resignation
Kamille Hisel, CES Teacher – resignation
Armando Palomino McClure, CHS Teacher – resignation
Erinn Moseley, CMS Teacher – resignation
Heidi Pritchett, CMS Sp Ed Teacher – resignation
Greg Rowe, CMS Teacher – resignation
Abby Thornton, CMS Teacher/Coach – resignation
Melvin Waller, CHS Teacher, resignation
Wanita Washington, CHS Teacher, resignation

The motion carried 5-0.

15.1.5 A motion was made by Daphne LaRock, seconded by Sharon Nelson to approve the extended emergency sick leave for Pamela Cleaver and Cristy Dutton as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry.

The motion carried 5-0.

16. Adjournment

A motion was made by John Henry Holloway, seconded by Sharon Nelson to adjourn the meeting at 9:10 p.m.

The motion carried 5-0.