Center FFA Banquet Highlights 2016-2017 Year

New Center FFA Officers

May 15, 2017 (Photos) - The Center FFA banquet was held May 2, 2017 at the Center High School cafetorium where FFA students were recognized for their year of involvement, accomplishments, and achievements.

Jodi CockrellJodi Cockrell, a 2011 graduate of Joaquin High School, was the guest speaker for the banquet. She was the Texas FFA State Vice President 2012-2013 and is a graduate of Texas A&M University with a degree in Agriculture Communications and Journalism. Cockrell spoke about her time in high school and her time in college, "The lessons that I learned that make me who I am today were not learned from running up and down a basketball court, or sliding into home on a softball field. They were learned wearing a blue corduroy jacket. The skills and the lessons I learned, and the people I met throughout my FFA career are what lead me to be successful in college and continued to push me to be the best person that I can be today." She spoke about her experience with Texas FFA and how they were some she will never forget.

The following certificates and awards were presented:

LDE Teams (Leadership Development Events)
Radio Broadcasting team - Maddie Russell, Brayden Strong, Kaden LaRock placed 5th at District contest
Sr. Creed Speaking - Whitlee Reed placed 2nd at District Contest, competed in Area
Jr. Quiz - Reanna Arndt, Taylor Burch, Makayla Mayo, and Diana Escobedo placed 10th in District
Sr. Quiz - Jaylee Sims, Logan Speedy, Zoie Eberenz, and Carsen Vickers placed 16th in District
Agricultural Advocacy team - Madison McMillan, Kaden LaRock, Kalei LaRock, Mallory Fausett, and Lexi Parker placed 4th at District
Public Relations - Jaylee Sims, Gracie Clifton, Chris Byndom, and Jasmin Guevara placed 3rd at District
Job Interview - MaKayla Mayo placed 7th in District

Honorary Chapter FFA Degree presented to Amanda Kirby (left) by Whitlee Reed (right)Judging Events (Career Development Events)
Wildlife team - Nate Morris, Dalton Alexander, Kaden LaRock, Zack Fausett, Whitlee Reed, Logan Speedy, Josh Clinton, Cayden Sparks, Dayton Bush, Ashton McGhen, Josh McDonald placed 1st in District, advancing to Area.
Floriculture - Jaylee Sims, Carsen Vickers, Gracie Clifton were Area Qualifiers
Forestry - Nate Morris, Konner Windham, Dalton Alexander, Zack Fausett, Kaden LaRock, Cayden Sparks, Josh Clinton, Whitlee Reed, Mallory Fausett, Logan Holloway, Logan Speedy, Dayton Bush - District Champions, 2nd & 3rd place at District, 2nd place in the 5-District Contest, 10th overall in the state
Livestock - Whitlee Reed, Blake Griffin, Makayla Mayo
Forages - Madison McMillan, Cale Hall, Macade Perry, and Maddie Russell were State Qualifiers
Horse Judging - Zykevious Khourn, Litzy Duarte, Diana Escobedo were Area Qualifiers
Vet Med Applications - Maddie Russell, Zoie Eberenz, Luis Sequera

Star Greenhand Award - Mallory FausettGreenhand Degrees (46 Degree Recipients) - Ashton McGhen, Bethany Kaluza, Blanca Barrientos, Brady McSwain, Cam Amburn, Christopher Byndom, Corey Denney, Dakota Sanford, Daylon Fountain, Dayton Bush, Deodrick McCollister, Devin Sanford, Diana Escobedo, Diana Robledo, Faustino Canada, Freddy Marrero, Hannah Lawson, Ivan Arias, Jacelyn Rhone, Jaydon Barnes, Jazmin Guevara, Joshua Clinton, Joshua McDonald, Kalei LaRock, Kelsey Adair, Kilye McClelland, Kutter Milford, Kyle Wright, Litzy Duarte, Makayla Mayo, Mallory Fausett, Matthew Borders, Melanie Parrish, Michael Sowell, Monse Caraveo, Nathan West, Nycolby Williams, Oliver Lopez, Preston Sherman, Raimi Phillips, Reanna Arndt, Rosalba Valdez, Selena Montes, Taylor Burch, Zykevious Khourn, Zyrome Khourn.

2016-2017 FFA Star Greenhand Award - Mallory Fausett

Chapter Degrees (10 Recipients) - Alan Mercer, Cayden Sparks, Chandler Cartwright, Chris Morris, Dijon Sanders, Gracie Clifton, Jaylee Sims, Kendal Ray, Maddie Russell, Zoie Eberenz.

Carsen Vickers and Maddie Russell

FFA Star Chapter Award - Carsen Vickers and Maddie Russell
Star Lonestar Award - Kaden LaRock and Madison McMillan
Star Senior Award - Whitlee Reed

Show Team Awards

Shelby County Broiler Show: Grand Champion - Macade Perry; Reserve Grand Champion - Mason Perry; 4th Overall - Logan Holloway; 10th - Lance Holloway; 20th - Grant Gregory; 24th - Logan Speedy; 29th - Kaden LaRock; 43rd - Kelsey Adair; 44th - Carsen Vickers. Other poultry show participants were: Josh Renfro, Madison McMillan, Devin Sanford, Dakota Sanford, Madison Lee, Caleb McDonald.

Shelby County Livestock Show: Grand Champion Lamb - Seth Shamblin; 8th place Lamb - Selena Montes; Reserve Champion Rabbits - Katie Parrish; 3rd place Rabbits - Mallory Fausett; 4th place Rabbits - Corey Denney; 6th place Market Rabbits - Brannon Denby; Reserve Champion Breeding Rabbits - Melanie Parrish; 7th place Market Rabbits - Reanna Arndt; 6th place Swine - Kelsey Adair; 7th place Swine - Lance Holloway; 8th place Swine - Maddie Russell

Houston Livestock Show: Lance Holloway - 69th out of over 600 exhibitors; Kaden LaRock -80th out of over 600 exhibitors. Other Houston show participants were: Jr. FFA Members Seth Shamblin and Klayton LaRock; FFA Members Macade Perry, Mason Perry, Konner Windham, and Logan Holloway.

Showman of the Year - Logan Holloway

Ag Mechanics Awards:

Macade Perry, Kaden LaRock, Cale Hall, and Alan Mercer constructed a deer stand for the Ft. Worth Stock Show and Rodeo winning a red ribbon. Freddy Morrero, Nathan West, Pedro Ramirez and Hageo Caporali built a covered feed trough for the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo winning a blue ribbon.

Top Hand Awards: 
Burval Holt's Top Hand - Macade Perry
Ashley Cooper's Top Hand - Ivan Arias
Paul Harvey's Top Hand - Blake Griffin
Jessica Shaddox's Top Hand - Nate Morris

Honorary Chapter FFA Degree - Amanda Kirby

Seniors presented with FFA Cords: Konner Windham, Macade Perry, Whitlee Reed, Nate Morris, Zack Fausett, and Collin Vickers.

Mrs. Cooper presented a $500 Vet Med Class Scholarship to Whitlee Reed.
Mrs. Shaddox presented $500 scholarships to Zachary Fausett and Whitlee Reed.

New officers were announced: Meeting Chairperson - Mallory Fausett; Community Service Chairperson - MaKayla Mayo; Sentinel - Jaylee Sims; Treasure - Maddie Russell; Reporter - Kalei LaRock; Secretary - Carsen Vickers; Vice President - Madison Kirby; and President - Kaden LaRock.