Center's Copelin Included in Texas OnCourse 29 Counselors, Advisers to TXOC Leader Fellowship

August 28, 2017 - From over 230 applications, Center High School's Alease Copelin was selected by Texas OnCourse, an initiative empowering Texas students to succeed in high school, college, and career, as one of 29 counselors and advisers from across the state to participate in a two-year Leadership Fellowship.

According to the Texas OnCourse press release, the inaugural group of Leader Fellows will boost state efforts to improve college and career success

Texas OnCourse, an initiative empowering Texas students to succeed in high school, college and career, announced the selection of 29 counselors and advisers from across the state to a two-year Leader Fellowship.

The inaugural group of Fellows, representing all 20 education regions throughout Texas, are recognized as leaders in the college and career advising field. TXOC Leader Fellows will boost state efforts toward college and career success by connecting educators, parents and students to Texas OnCourse resources, supporting professional growth and learning and constantly improving state tools for college and career preparedness.

“These Leader Fellows were selected from a talented group of over 230 applicants. They represent some of the most dedicated and passionate education professionals in our state,” said Harrison Keller, Deputy to the President for Strategy and Policy at UT Austin. “They are already changing the lives of their students and, as a Texas OnCourse Leader Fellow, they will help transform education in Texas.”

The 2017 TXOC Leader Fellows are:
Celina Barrera-Scott, Brownsville ISD
Kathryn Belcher, Beeville ISD
Carrie Alease Copelin, Center ISD
Debra Creel, Conroe ISD
Sonya Gilb, Dallas ISD
Travita Godfrey, Goose Creek CISD
Amy Hagerman, Plainview ISD
Cathy Havins, Fort Stockton ISD
Mollie M. Huber, Van Vleck ISD
Shana Jackson, Northwest ISD
Sharon Jones, Brenham ISD
Calvin Jordan, Irving ISD
Scotta Knight, Shallowater ISD
Belinda Lytle, Haskell CISD
Blanca Lafuente-Martinez, Brownwood ISD
Holly Moore, Grand Prairie ISD
Anita Morales, Salado ISD
Nicole Morales, Canutillo ISD
Natalie Nylen, Clear Creek ISD
Stephanie Perez-Gill, Cristo Rey Jesuit College Prep of Houston
Jenifer L. Price, Hyde Park Schools
Carrie Proctor, Meridian School
Elizabeth Reed, Little Elm ISD
Leticia Santos, Southside ISD
Chansi Shope, Grapevine Colleyville ISD
Diane Silver, Vidor ISD
Michelle Snyder, Austin ISD
Kathy Stringfellow, Pewitt CISD
Darlene Walker, Canadian ISD

The Fellows will support the work of Texas OnCourse, a groundbreaking initiative to improve college and career advising. Texas OnCourse is developed by The University of Texas at Austin in partnership with other institutions of higher education, the Texas Education Agency (TEA), the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB).

Texas OnCourse offers free, interactive resources to support counselors, advisers and educators and help families and students make informed choices. These resources contribute to schools and districts efforts toward meeting the requirements of Texas HB 5, which revised state graduation requirements.

Texas OnCourse is free to the public and can be found online at