FSA County Committee Elections Underway

November 27, 2019 – Ballots for the 2019 Angelina-Nacogdoches-Trinity-San Augustine-Shelby Farm Service Agency county committee elections began on Monday, November 4, with the mailing of ballots to eligible voters. The deadline to return the ballots to local FSA offices is Monday, December 2, 2019.

County committee members are an important component of the operations of FSA and provide a link between the agricultural community and USDA. Farmers and ranchers elected to county committees help deliver FSA programs at the local level, applying their knowledge and judgment to make decisions on commodity price support programs; conservation programs; incentive indemnity and disaster programs for some commodities; emergency programs and eligibility. FSA committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out federal laws. Committees are comprised of three to 11 members who serve three-year terms.

To be an eligible voter, farmers and ranchers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program. A person who is not of legal voting age but supervises and conducts the farming operations of an entire farm, may also be eligible to vote.

Eligible voters who do not receive a ballot can obtain one from their local USDA Service Center. December 2, 2019, is the last day for voters to submit ballots in person to local USDA Service Centers. Ballots returned by mail must also be postmarked no later than December 2. Newly elected committee members will take office Jan. 1, 2020.

For more information, visit the FSA website at www.fsa.usda.gov/elections. You may also contact your local USDA Service Center or FSA office. Visit http://offices.usda.gov to find an FSA office near you.