March 1st Local Elections Breakdown; May 24th Run Off Elections

March 15, 2022 - All local races were decided in the March 1st Primary Elections; however, one federal and five statewide races and still to be decided in the May 24th Run Off Elections.

The March 1st Primary Election ended with all local races decided since all candidates ran on the Republican ballot with all opposed incumbents retaining their offices. To view a precinct breakdown of the voting results, click here. The following names will be on the November Election ballot uncontested.

Local Races
District Judge, 273rd Judicial District - James A. "Jim" Payne, Jr. 
County Judge - Allison Harbison
District Clerk - Lori Oliver
County Clerk - Jennifer Fountain
County Treasurer - Ann Blackwell
Commissioner Precinct 2 - Jimmy Lout
Commissioner Precinct 4 - Tom Bellmyer
Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 - Donna Hughes
Justice of the Peace Precinct 2 - Marla Denby
Justice of the Peace Precinct 3 - Melba Rodgers
Justice of the Peace Precinct 5 - Tracy Broadway
Republican County Chair - Leigh Porterfield

Justice of the Peace Precinct 4, Jackie Kirkwood died January 29, 2022 while in office. The Republican Party can select a candidate to appear on the November Ballot to represent its party.


In federal and statewide elections there are several races advancing to run off elections on Tuesday, May 24, 2022 since none of the candidates received more than 50% of the votes. To view the election results with statewide percentages added, click here.

Democrat Party Run Off Elections

United State Representative, District 1

  • Victor D. Dunn
  • Jrmar JJ Jefferson

Lieutenant Governor

  • Mike Collier
  • Michelle Beckley

Attorney General

  • Rochelle Mercedes Garza
  • Joe Jaworski

Comptroller of Public Accounts

  • Angel Luis Vega
  • Janet T. Dudding

Commissioner of the General Land Office

  • Sandragrace Martinez
  • Jay Kleberg

Republican Party Run Off Elections

Attorney General

  • Ken Paxton
  • George P. Bush

Commissioner of the General Land Office

  • Tim Westley
  • Dawn Buckingham