Nichols, Harrison Receive Shelby County Teacher of the Year Awards (Correction)

April 25, 2019 (Photo Album) - Receiving top honors at the Shelby County Chamber of Commerce Teacher Appreciation reception were Brooke Harrison and Beth Nichols. Harrison won Shelby County Secondary Teacher of the Year and Nichols won Shelby County Elementary Teacher of the Year!

Shelby County Elementary Teacher of the Year Beth Nichols

Shelby County Secondary Teacher of the Year Brooke Harrison

The recipient of the Pam Phelps Friends of Education Award for 2019 was Shelby County Go Texan in recognition of their dedication and support to the education profession. The group gives scholarships to Shelby County graduates each year. Attending the event to accept the award on behalf of the Shelby County Go Texans was Ed Johnson.

Cancee Lester presents plaque to Ed Johnson on behalf of Shelby County Go Texan

During the reception which was held Wednesday, April 24 at the Windham Civic Center, teachers were recognized for their dedication to their students, school, and community.

All of the Teachers of the Year from the Shelby County School Campuses who were recognized were:

Center Christian Academy –  Karen Mayo
F.L. Moffett Primary School –  Jessica Belrose
Center Elementary School –  Kirstin Trahan
Center Intermediate School –  Beth Nichols
Center Middle School –  Pamela Doggett
Center High School –  Michele Whiddon
Roughrider Academy -  Erica Klein
Excelsior ISD – Sonya Nutt
Joaquin Elementary School –  Monica Smith
Joaquin Junior High School –  Mary Hovey
Joaquin High School –  Brett Gaylord
S.W. Carter Elementary –  Jason McDonald
Shelbyville Middle School –  Bailee Rash
Shelbyville High School – Brooke Harrison
Tenaha Elementary School – Carrie Jenkins
Tenaha Middle/High School – Tammy Hamilton
Timpson Elementary –  Melanie Sanford
Timpson Middle School – Kendra Welch
Timpson High School –  Darlene Therwhanger

Gold sponsors for the event were Farmers State Bank and Shelby Savings Bank. Silver Sponsors were Dr. James Hockenberry, Nacogdoches Medical Center, and Ray Jones Chevrolet.