Meet the Candidates, Cake Auction Fundraiser Today! (Free Admission)

February 13, 2024 (Flier) - The Center Volunteer Fire Department and the West Shelby Volunteer Fire Department cordially invite you to join them on Friday, February 16th for a ‘Meet the Candidates’ and Cake Auction fundraiser at High Roller Arena, 2976 US-96, Center, Texas 75935. Doors open at 5:30pm and candidates speak at 6:00pm. Admission to the event is free.

If you would like to submit a question for candidates to be asked during the event, email the question to The questions should be directed to the specific office and not the candidate. Once the questions are reviewed, it will be up to the hosting group to determine which questions will be asked.

All candidates running for office, opposed or unopposed, are invited to speak to the citizens of Shelby County. Candidates who would like to have their time at the podium are encouraged to RSVP. A table will be provided for each candidate to have a dedicated area to visit with voters. Each candidate is responsible for providing a cake or pie which will be auctioned off during the event.

During the activities, a “Cake Auction” will be held to raise money for the two fire departments.

Candidates who wish to participate can RSVP by sending an email to

All proceeds will benefit the Center Volunteer Fire Department and the West Shelby Volunteer Fire Department.

Contested Offices up for election this term are...
U.S. Senator  – (3 Republican, 9 Democratic)
Railroad Commissioner  – (5 Republican, 2 Democratic)
State Representative District 11  – (2 Republican)
County Attorney – (2 Republican)
Sheriff – (3 Republican)
County Commissioner PCT 3 – (2 Republican)
Justice of the Peace PCT 4, Unexpired Term – (2 Republican)
County Constable Precinct 3 – (3 Republican)

Uncontested Offices up for election this term are...
U.S. Representative District 1 – Nathaniel Moran (Rep.)
District Judge, 123rd Judicial Dist. – Leann Kay Rafferty (Rep.)
District Attorney, 123rd Judicial Dist. – Karren S. Price (Rep.)
County Tax Assessor-Collector – Debora Riley (Rep.)
County Commissioner Precinct 1 – Roscoe McSwain (Rep.)
County Constable Precinct 1 – Zack Warr (Rep.)
County Constable Precinct 2 – Jamie Hagler (Rep.)
County Constable Precinct 4 – Taylor Fanguy (Rep.)
County Constable Precinct 5 – Josh Tipton (Rep.)
Democratic County Chair – Patsy Handy
Republican County Chair – Leigh Porterfield